Alabama Crimson Tide

2011 National Champions

By the Numbers

--- 92 - 49 - 5 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 0 - 0 ---

  • 92 yards total offense by LSU

  • 49 yard punt return by Marquis Maze -- 43 more than LSU special teams allowed all year

  • 5 LSU first downs

  • 1 trip by LSU across the 50 all night; not until the 4th quarter, and four plays later LSU was back on the wrong side of the 50

  • 1 return yard by the "Honey Badger"

  • 1 penalty by Alabama (that a 5 yard off sides on a punt late in the 4th quarter)

  • 0 points by LSU

  • the first and only shutout in BCS Bowl history (not the BCS Championship, but in any BCS bowl)

  • Defense Wins Championships

  • LSU's 92 yards of total offense was the lowest output by an SEC opponent against the Tide since Tennessee in 1980, 31 years ago.

  • Alabama's defense finished the year first in all four major defensive categories: Total Defense, Scoring Defense, Rushing Defense, and Passing Defense, the first team to accomplish that in 25 years

  • Since 1936 only one other team has accomplished that feat, Oklahoma in 1986.

  • LSU finished second in total defense and second in scoring defense in 2011. However, the margin between Alabama and LSU was the largest in FBS history.

  • Oregon scored 45 points in its Rose Bowl victory; the LSU defense held Oregon to 27 points. Wesr Virginia scored 70 points in its Oranage Bowl win; the LSU defense held West Virginia to 21 points.

  • Against teams not named Alabama, LSU averaged 387 yards and 41 points per game. LSU scored 40 points against the Rose Bowl champion (Oregon), 47 points against the Orange Bowl champion (West Virgina}, and 42 points against Georgia in the SEC Championship game.

  • In the two game against Alabama, LSU averaged 165.5 yards and 4.5 points; in the BCS title game it was 92 yards and 0 points.


  • The SEC has now won six BCS Championships in a row: two by Alabama, two by Florida, one by Auburn, and one by LSU.

  • In all Alabama has won two BCS Championship titles, Florida two, LSU two, Auburn one, and Tennessee one. No team outside the SEC has won more than one.

  • The 2012 (2011 season) BCS Championship Game was the first to match two teams form the same conference, and in fact from the same division (the western division of the SEC).

  • The SEC won the first BCS Championship Championship Game in 1999 (Tennessee) and has never lost a BCS Championship Game (except this year when both teams were from the SEC western division).

  • Conference wins in the BCS Championship Championship Game since 1999 are:

  • SEC Big 12 Big 10 Pac-12 ACC Big East
    8 2 1 1 1 1